Child Safe Standards

The Victorian Government and Parktone Primary School are committed to the safety and wellbeing of all children and young people. As part of the Victorian Government’s commitment to implementing the recommendations of the Betrayal of Trust report, which found that more must be done to prevent and respond to child abuse in our community, there is a regulatory landscape surrounding child safety, underpinned by the new PROTECT Child Safe Standards.

The Child Safe Standards are compulsory minimum standards for all Victorian early childhood services and schools, to ensure they are well prepared to protect children from abuse and neglect.


The Standards are:

  • Standard 1: Culturally safe environments

  • Standard 2: Leadership, governance and culture
  • Standard 3: Child and students empowerment
  • Standard 4: Family engagement

  • Standard 5: Diversity and equity

  • Standard 6: Suitable staff and volunteers
  • Standard 7: Child-focused complaints processes
  • Standard 8 : Child safety knowledge, skills and awareness
  • Standard 9 :  Physical and online environments
  • Standard 10 : Review of child safety practices
  • Standard 11 : Implementation of child saftey practices

Parktone staff follow the Four Critical Actions when responding to and reporting suspected child abuse. 

  • Action 1: Respond to an emergency

  • Action 2: Report to authorities

  • Action 3: Contact parents or carers

  • Action 4: Provide on-going support 

Child Safety Policy June 2022

Child Safety Standards Code of Conduct Policy August 2022

Child Saftey Responding and Reporting Obligations Policy July 2022

Duty of Care Policy October 2021

Student Wellbeing and Engagement Policy August 2022

Visitors Policy July 2022

Volunteers Policy June 2022

Yard Duty and Supervision Policy July 2022

© Copyright 2020 Parktone Primary School